Couldn’t ask for anything more …

Trying on shades at the Warby Parker headquarters was fun!

Our first full day in the Big Apple began with – of all things – my appointment at the budget-friendly yet boutique-quality spectacles shop, Warby Parker.

If you’re not familiar with the company, I encourage you to visit their website http://www.warbyparker.com. They are the Tom’s Shoes of eyeglasses, giving away a pair to someone in need for every pair they sell. What’s unexpected is the price – only $95 – which includes the frames AND lenses.

Their business is through mail order but they do have showrooms in a few cities. New York is their home base, so the SoHo loft showroom is also their corporate headquarters. In my sights today, pun intended, was to buy a pair of non-prescription Warby Parker sunglasses. I found the perfect pair, placed my order, and my new shades will be mailed to me in a few days.

Steam vapor from some subterranean generator provided a surreal backdrop for these Union Square visitors. 

Our agenda was loose from that point on and we had many hours until our 8:00 pm date to see singer-songwriter Shawn Colvin at the fantastic City Winery (a performance and vino venue). Our own research and friends’ recommendations had given us a list of places to go and see, so we leisurely worked our way through the list.

The fall weather in the city was GLORIOUS; not a cloud shared the sky with Mr. Sunshine. We walked and subwayed ourselves to spots which pictures do as much or more justice as words, so I’ll post them, then bid you goodnight after sharing my thought of thanksgiving:

If we’re lucky, we humans get a few perfect days sprinkled among the thousands we’ll live. Today was one of mine. I was moved to tears twice tonight listening to the pure voice and heart-sung lyrics of Shawn Colvin. I am so grateful for Kelley, and for the gift of his love and friendship, which has revolutionized my life and heart. At one point today, totally unbidden, he leaned over to me and said, “There’s no one on this planet that I’d rather spend time with than you.”

Perfect. Day.

It was a thrill to see these sunlit and wind-blown flags that surround the Rockefeller Center plaza.

This wall-sized statement was the focal point of the largest and most busy Starbucks I've ever visited.

At Union Square, vendors by the dozen sell their produce and products. These sunlit radishes were picture perfect.

Chelsea Bagel is a New York institution. We bagged a few to go.

I read about "The Meadow" in Rachael Ray's magazine and knew I had to visit the NYC shop. They specialize in gourmet salts and chocolate. Here, containers of salt are displayed on a wall of shallow shelves.

Leave a Reply

